"God, Home, & Country"

Welcome to the Anne Helm Chapter NSDAR

Chapter Meetings

Anne Helm Chapter meets the first Friday of each month with the exception of July and August. Please contact us if you are interested in visiting our meetings, or if you want membership information.

Anne Helm Chapter Officers

2016-2018 Chapter Officers: Regent - Keena Foltz, Vice Regent - Elna Willliams, Secretary - Lois Turner, Treasurer - Anne Brown, Chaplain - Carol Howell, Asst. Chaplain - Louise Mustoe, Registrar - Sharon Foltz. Missing in the picture are Elna, Carol, and Anne.

Chapter History

Anne Helm Chapter was organized by a group of 23 patriotic women on October 20, 1908, in Macon, Missouri.

Map showing Macon Co., MissouriCharter Members were: Louisa William Brock, Maude Dysart Brock, Ethel Coulter Brown, Mary Craddock Doneghy, Kate Campbell Doneghy, Martha Prewitt Doneghy, Carrie Stewart Duffy, Emma Turner Dysart, Susie Mitchell Guthrie, Mattie Blincoe Howe, Hettie Coulter Lamb, Martha Gilstrap Matthews, Mary Anderson Matthews, Corrine Matthews, Lena Carhart Mitchell, Lena Trowbridge Payson, Emily Pipkin Simmons, Amy Simmons, Lucy Simmons, Mary Van Cleve, Hallie Wilkinson Wardell, Stella Turner Wilson, and Elizabeth Stickney Wilson.

The name Anne Helm was chosen in honor of Mrs. John T. Doneghy's great-great grandmother who assisted and sacrificed members of her family for the cause of the Revolutionary War.

Macon LibraryThe Macon Public Library was founded on March 23, 1912, with Miss Sarah Larrabee as librarian. It was located in the Howe Building opposite of the Jefferson Hotel. DAR members raised funds by having "Tap Day" and several "Macon County Banquets." The response to the library was so great that it soon became too large for the Howe Store. The library moved several times until, in 1915, the trustees voted to build a permanent library. The Anne Helm Chapter purchased the lot on the corner of Rutherford and Butler where the present library building is located.

The Anne Helm Chapter was instrumental in forming the first Red Cross Chapter in Macon and helped to raise funds to sponsor Herbert English, a volunteer for ambulance service in France during W.W.I.

On November 11, 1934, a bronze plaque was unveiled at the Macon County Court House to honor four Revolutionary Soldiers who are buried in Macon County. They are James Howell, James Lynch, Bennett Tilley, and Nicholas Tuttle.

Chapter Officers

Chapter Regent - Keena Foltz

Vice Regent - Elna Willliams

Chaplain - Carol Howell

Asst. Chaplain - Louise Mustoe

Recording Secretary - Lois Turner,

Treasurer - Anne Brown

Registrar - Sharon Folz

Historian - Helen Baker

Librarian - Darlene Huffman

Patriot Ancestors of Chapter Members

Our patriot ancestors served in the American Revolution. The list, which includes the patriot's name, state of service, and wife's name, if known, is available for download or viewing. You must have the free Adobe Reader to view the file.

Get Adobe Reader